British Summer, Part 1: Massive Bath Buns

After finishing my NQT year it would be understandable if I had decided to go on a massive blowout holiday somewhere exotic and far away in celebration… however I have decided to spend the summer weeks relaxing in my cherished home country, risking the typical British weather (which has actually been gorgeous so far!) but also saving money and effort organising a huge holiday. In the weeks ahead I had a few vague plans: 1. Visit my sister in Oxford. 2. go to the Lake District with Dad 3. Spend some time in my flat timing the wilderness that is the garden 4. Spend some time in London, and just generally relax before the stress begins again in September. 

Part 1: Massive Bath Buns

I visited Oxford and my sister and I made a day trip to Bath which isn’t too far away. The highlight of the the trip was our visit to Sally Lunn’s to taste the famous buns. If you haven’t been, I would highly recommend it – the buns were delicious! They are as large and round as a plate, made of chewy light bread, similar to brioche, and come with a variety of sweet or savoury toppings. I chose cinnamon butter, which was spread on top and had a light flavour, not too overpowering. My sister chose ginger butter which again wasn’t too spicy and added just the right amount of flavour to complement the buns. 

The cafe itself claims to be the oldest building in Bath and also has a museum on the premises which is free to patrons of the cafe, although we didn’t have time to visit it ourselves. 

If you are a fan of cakes or buns, like me, this should definitely be on your to-do list when visiting Bath! I’ve included some photos – although they look slightly unappetizing, do not be fooled by the “rustic” appearance, they are extremely tasty and they were a perfect pick-me-up for us after a long day shopping! 040 041 042 043 044

One thought on “British Summer, Part 1: Massive Bath Buns

I'd love to know what you think...

