Yorkshire coast

After my last blogpost about aiming to relax and enjoy my half-term break, I thought I should write and let you know what I have been up to. This post will take you on a kind of photo journey, because a picture paints a thousand words, and I have a lot of lovely pictures.

DSCF0408

On bank holiday Monday, Dad, bro and I went to the Yorkshire coast. Last time we took a trip together, we went to Malham in the Yorkshire Dales. This time we went to the east coast of Yorkshire to the area around Flamborough.

DSCF0389

Our first stop was Bempton cliffs, an RSPB area where Dad enjoyed his favourite pastime of birdwatching and shared his birdwatching skills with me and my brother. I don’t normally get excited about birds but actually it was kind of fun trying to spot puffins on the cliffs. It took me back to my childhood on the isle of Anglesey and weekends spent on South Stack at Holyhead mountain, North Wales.

DSCF0387

DSCF0351
My dad and brother looking geeky with binoculars 🙂

We saw gannets, razorbills, kittiwakes, and puffins with their colourful beaks.

DSCF0355

DSCF0378

DSCF0384
isn’t he beautiful? 🙂

DSCF0353

The next day we went to Robin Hood’s bay and walked along the coast towards Whitby. We started on the ‘Cinder Track’ which followed the path of an old railway.

DSCF0406 DSCF0418

Along the Cinder Track, we crossed a road with traffic lights designed for horseriders, and came to an old station at Hawsker, which is now somebody’s house but has the original station features.

DSCF0419

DSCF0413

We were so close to Whitby that we could see the abbey (made famous in the novel Dracula by Bram Stoker)

DSCF0420
Whitby abbey on the horizon

We walked back to Robin Hood’s bay along the coastal path. It was so close to the cliff edge that sometimes the path had been eroded and fallen into the sea and we were diverted into fields full of sheep.

DSCF0429

DSCF0428

DSCF0423

DSCF0431

DSCF0432

DSCF0433
Robin Hood’s bay

The weather was beautiful and we walked about seven miles along the coast. The trip was a bit geeky and sometimes it felt like I was on a geography field trip getting geekily interested in birds and coastlines… but it was very relaxing and I enjoyed being close to nature and spending some time with my dad and brother 🙂

DSCF0373

4 thoughts on “Yorkshire coast

I'd love to know what you think...

