A piece of me

“Who in the world am I? Ah, that’s the great puzzle.”
― Lewis CarrollAlice in Wonderland

I have spent the last eight to nine months training to be a primary school teacher, and I am reaching the end of the course, and the final test: taking a class for the whole school day, assuming the role of a newly qualified teacher for three weeks. 

During the course, everything I believed or thought about teaching has been questioned, moulded and shaped, and my “teaching personality” has been evaluated and cultivated and continues to do so with every assessment, reflection and “constructive criticism” offered by tutors, class teachers and head teachers, and myself (sometimes my biggest critic).

It is impossible to do a course like this without going through a process of change, and this can be difficult and confusing. Sometimes I have felt that teaching is at odds with my personality and I have had to learn to take on a “teaching persona” which is different to my persona outside of the classroom. There is so much questioning, reflection, evaluation, and conflicting advice from university and school placements, that you can get lost in it. 

I also feel that the heavy workload has made me neglect things that are important to me, and this blog is one of those things. This blog is a space for me to imagine, create and write, and I have missed it. But I have really struggled to find the time and space in my day to write here.

It’s half-term and I have decided this is a week where I can “find” pieces of me that I have let be forgotten. Starting with this blog-post. So watch this space 🙂

Happy half-term/bank holiday weekend everybody xxx

One thought on “A piece of me

  1. It’s one of the most important things you can do as a primary teacher – to go on finding “a space . . . . to imagine, create and write.” You owe it to yourself. Hopefully all goes well.

    Like

I'd love to know what you think...

